Vote Karrissa Wimberley for Sullivan Award

Cast a vote for Karrissa Wimberley to be elevated to the final 5 as a candidate for the prestigious Sullivan Award (  Karrissa represents the sport of baton as one of 12 semi-finalists for this award.  This group includes Heisman Trophy winner Cam Newton and 2010 Winter Olympic Figure Skating gold medalist Evan Lysacek.  Former winners of this award include Heisman Trophy winners Tim Tebow and Charlie Ward, and legends of sports such as Felix Blanchard and Bob Mathias.

Known as the " Oscar" of sports awards, and older than The Heisman, the AAU Sullivan Award honors the outstanding amateur athlete in the United States. It has been presented annually by the AAU since 1930 as a salute to founder and past president of the Amateur Athletic Union, and a pioneer in amateur sports, James E. Sullivan. Based on the qualities of leadership, character, sportsmanship, and the ideals of amateurism, the AAU Sullivan Award goes far beyond athletic accomplishments and honors those who have shown strong moral character.

The popular vote counts for one-third of the score for making it to the final 5.  The final 5 candidates will be hosted at the New York Athletic Club in New York, City on March 14, 2011.  Voting ends at the end of the day on February 25.

The link for voting is provided below this paragraph.  The following statement will appear in the first paragraph in red type:  "Online voting at USA Today for the AAU Sullivan Semi-finalists. Vote today!"  Next in blue type it will say "Click Here."  Clicking on this link will take you to the voting site.  Karrissa is the last one on the list.

Info provided by: Karen Camme, NY Metro AAU, Sport Director for Baton Twirling


Follow us on....

Advertise with us today...